Jefferson County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Atchison County 

E – Leavenworth County

S – Douglas County and Shawnee County

W – Shawnee County and Jackson County


Created:  August 30, 1855                     Map of Kansas highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat:

Oskaloosa  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Oskaloosa  


Location:  300 Jefferson Street / Liberty Street

Built:  1896 – 1897

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kiene and Bradley and Associates

Contractor:  J A Lundgren & Sons


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Oskaloosa. The south front has a central entrance on the first story with glass panels and small over hanging canopy. Six blue vertical pillars run along the building. A horizontal concrete band divides the first and second stories. The roof line is flat. The building was remodeled in 1988. The architect was Ossmann & Associates and the contractor was Tefft & Donaldson Contractors.


See:  The architect, Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka, designed courthouses in Coffey County, Greeley CountyLogan County, Morris County, Neosho County and Wilson County.


History:  The previous courthouse was designed by  E D Baldwin and constructed by Graham & Swain in 1868. The building was damaged by a tornado in 1960 a


History:  The first courthouse  was a two story structure designed by E D Baldwin and constructed by Grisham & Swain in Oskaloosa in 1868. The courthouse was destroyed by a tornado in 1960 and subsequently demolished. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1961 to 1962.




County Courthouse - Oskaloosa  

























Photos taken 2010