Finney County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Finney County

Finney County is named for David W Finney ( 1839 - 1916 ), who was the Lieutenant Governor of Kansas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Scott County and Lane County

E – Hodgeman County and Gray County

S – Gray County and Haskell County

W – Grant County and Kearny County


Created:  February 22, 1883                  Map of Kansas highlighting Finney County

County Seat:

Garden City  1884 – present


County Courthouse – Garden City 


Location:  425 North 8th Street / West Pine Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Routledge & Hertz of Hutchinson

Contractor:  Bailey-Burns Company of Norman, Oklahoma


Description: The building faces east and is a three story limestone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Garden City. The center of the east front of the rectangular shaped building rises slightly above the north and south wings. There are three entrance doors with three long windows above the entrance. Vertical brick pilasters rise to the top of the second story and run between the windows. Along the third floor are small windows. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The architect,  Routledge & Hertz, designed courthouses in Comanche County, Edwards County, Gray County. Hodgeman County and Sherman County.


History:  In 1884, the county was formed from Buffalo County, Sequoyah County and Garfield County and was attached to Ford County for judicial purposes. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1928 to 1929.




County Courthouse – Garden City










Photos taken 2007