Cloud County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Cloud County

Cloud County is named for William F Cloud, who was a colonel of the Second Kansas Cavalry during the American Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Republic County

E – Washington County and Clay County

S – Ottawa County

W – Mitchell County and Jewell County


Created:  May 27, 1867                          Map of Kansas highlighting Cloud County

County Seat:

Concordia  1870 – present


County Courthouse – Concordia 


Location:  811 Washington Street / West 8th Street

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Williamson-Loebsack & Associates of Topeka

Contractor:  Rhode Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray limestone, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Concordia. The north section of the building is a two story glass structure with entrance foyer on the west side. On the south side is the higher rectangular section with vertical windows and flat roof line. The building is located on spacious grounds. On the east side of the courthouse is the old County Jail.


See:  The architect, Williamson-Loebsack & Associates of Topeka, designed courthouses in Greenwood County, Ottawa County and Sumner County.


History:  Shirley County was created February 27, 1860 with county seat at Elk Creek ( Clyde ). In 1866, the county seat was moved to Rochester. In 1867, the county became Cloud County with county seat at Concordia in 1870. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by W R Parson & Sons and constructed by John S Huntley. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1958 to 1959.




County Courthouse – Concordia













Photos taken 2009