Cheyenne County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Cheyenne County

Cheyenne County is named for the Cheyenne Indian tribe, buffalo-hunters who roamed the plains of western Kansas and Nebraska south to the Arkansas River.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dundy County, Nebraska 

E – Rawlins County

S – Sherman County

W – Yuma County, Colorado


Created:  March 20, 1873                       Map of Kansas highlighting Cheyenne County

County Seat:

Bird City      1886 – 1889

St. Francis  1889 – present


County Courthouse – St. Francis


Location:  212 East Washington Street / North Benton Street

Built:  1924 – 1925

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Thomas W Williamson & Company of Topeka

Contractor:  Thomas D Howard


Description: The building faces south and is a four story buff colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of St. Francis. The building has nine bays on the north and south facades and five bays on the east and west facades. The south front has stone steps rising to the entrance which has six large Tuscan columns rising to a header with brick parapet balustrade above. The roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, Thomas W Williamson & Company of Topeka, also designed courthouses in Jackson County, Sheridan County and Smith County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Cheyenne County Courthouse


History:  The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by Kincaid & Eaton and built n St. Francis in 1889. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1924 to 1925 at a cost of $163,921.




County Courthouse – St. Francis




Photos taken 2007