Barber County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Barber County

Barber County is named for Thomas W Barber, who was a Free State settler in Douglas County and who was killed near Lawrence on December 6, 1855.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pratt County and Kingman County

E – Kingman County and Harper County

S – Alfalfa County, Oklahoma and Woods County, Oklahoma

W – Comanche County and Kiowa County


Created:  February 26, 1867                  Map of Kansas highlighting Barber County

County Seat:

Medicine Lodge  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Medicine Lodge 


Location:  120 East Washington Avenue / South Walnut Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Brinkman & Hagan of Emporia

Contractor:  Frank E Blaser Construction Company of Wichita Inc.


Description: The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick and light colored concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Medicine Lodge. The south front has a central entrance flanked by black colored stone and recessed glass doorway. On the east and west sides are vertical concrete dividers with recessed windows. On either end is red colored brick. The roof line is flat.


History:  The first courthouse was designed by Willis A Ritchie and built in Medicine Lodge in 1887. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1955 to 1956.




County Courthouse – Medicine Lodge













Photos taken 2010