Wright County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Wright County

Wright County is named for Silas Wright, a Governor of New York, and for Joseph Albert Wright, a Governor of Indiana.


Created:  January 15, 1851

County Seat:

Liberty   1855 – 1866

Clarion  1866 – present


County Courthouse – Clarion


Location:  115 North Main Street / Central Avenue East

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  W B Parson & Son

Contractor:  E D Janes & Company


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick structure. On the southeast corner is a large square clock tower. The south entrance is arched and the base of the building is white course stone. Round tower are on either side of the entrance.


Note:  The first court was held in a log cabin in 1851. The first courthouse was built in Liberty in 1855. The second courthouse was built in Clarion in 1866. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $50,000.



N – Hancock County

E – Franklin County

S – Hamilton County

W – Webster County and Humboldt County





















Photos taken 2008