Woodbury County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Woodbury County

Woodbury County is named for Levi Woodbury, who was a governor of New Hampshire, United States Secretary of the Navy, United States Secretary of the Treasury and Justice of the United States Supreme Court.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Plymouth County and Cherokee County

E – Ida County

S – Monona County

W – Thurston County, Nebraska,  Dakota County, Nebraska and Union County, South Dakota 


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Woodbury County

County Seat:

Sioux City  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Sioux City


Location:  620 Douglas Street / 7th Street

Built:  1915 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William LaBarthe Steele and George Grant Elmslie and William Gray Pucell both of Minneapolis

Contractor:  Splady, Albee & Smith


Description: The building faces west and is a ten story buff colored Roman brick and granite structure. The building is located in the center of Sioux City. The west entrance has a large square brick arch with sculptured figures representing the Spirit of Law. The main building rises five stories. In the center is a multi-story tower rising 157 feet. The interior is decorated with murals by John W Norton and has a skylight. The building houses the County District Court of the 3B Judicial District.


See:  The architect William LaBarthe Steele also designed the courthouse in Charles Mix County, South Dakota


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Woodbury County Courthouse


See:  The 3B Judicial District includes Crawford County, Ida CountyMonona County, Plymouth County and Sioux County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Sioux City was selected as the county seat. Judge John C Cook contracted to build a courthouse for $848.08, but only the foundations were laid. The first courthouse was designed by William L Foster and constructed by Charles E Hedges and D T Hedges in 1878 at a cost of $75,000. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1915 to 1918.




County Courthouse – Sioux City






















Photos taken 2008