Wayne County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Wayne County

Wayne County is named for Anthony Wayne, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War, and who lived from 1745 to 1796.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lucas County

E – Appanoose County

S – Putnam County, Missouri and Mercer County, Missouri

W – Decatur County


Created:  January 13, 1846                    Map of Iowa highlighting Wayne County

County Seat:

Corydon  1851 – present


County Courthouse – Corydon


Location:  101 Franklin Street / West Jackson Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Frankhiser & Hutchens

Contractor:  Grabau Construction


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Corydon. The west front is divided into four sections by vertical concrete dividers. The entrance is on the north side of center and has white concrete facing with a clock above the glass entrance on the first story. The other sections have dark brown colored brick with narrow vertical windows. The north and south walls are white colored concrete facing. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 5B Judicial District.


See:  The 5B Judicial District includes Adair County. Clarke CountyDecatur CountyLucas County, Ringold County, Taylor County and Union County


History:  The county was created in 1846 and Corydon was selected as the county seat in 1851 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in Corydon 1856 at a cost of $600. The second courthouse was built by E A Rea and Alex Mordis in 1890. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964 at a cost of $450,000.



County Courthouse – Corydon










Photos taken 2008