Union County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Union County

Union County is named for the union of the United States of America that was threatened by the American Civil War.


Created:  January 15, 1851

County Seat:

Afton       1851 – 1890

Creston  1890 – present


County Courthouse – Creston


Location:  300 North Pine Street / West Mills Street

Built:  1951 – 1952

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Thomas W. Williamson and Victor Loebsack and Associates

Contractor:  O D Mulligan Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The east center section projects from the main building and is faced with dark red colored stone. Two concrete pillars divide the recessed windows and doorway. The roof line is flat


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Afton in 1857 at a cost of $1,800. The second courthouse was built in 1872 at a cost of $20,000. In 1`890, the third courthouse was built in Creston at a cost of $22,000. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $300,000.



N – Adair County and Madison County

E – Clarke County

S – Ringold County

W – Adams County











Photos taken 2008