Taylor County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Taylor County

Taylor County is named for Zachary Taylor, who was the twelfth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Adams County

E – Ringold County

S – Worth County, Missouri and Nodaway County, Missouri 

W – Page County


Created:  February 24, 1847                  Map of Iowa highlighting Taylor County

County Seat:

Bedford  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Bedford


Location:  405 Jefferson Street / Court Avenue

Built:  1892 – 1893

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  F M Ellis

Contractor:  Allan H Chaffee


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bedford. The building is constructed of pressed bricks and Bedford limestone. The south entrance has a wide stone trimmed arch with recessed doorway. Above are two turrets with conical roofs. The third story has a large arched window. In the center of the building is a large square white colored cupola with clock and white colored dome. The base of the building is white colored course stone. The roof is hipped. The building has an elegant spiral staircase. The building houses the County District Court of the 5B Judicial District.


See:  The 5B Judicial District includes Adair County. Clarke CountyDecatur CountyLucas County, Ringold County, Union County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1847 and Bedford was selected as the county seat in 1853. The first courthouse was built in 1863. The second and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $38,810. The contractor lost money on the project, so the county gave him an additional $1,000 and a gold watch to thank him for remaining faithful to the original contract price.





County Courthouse – Bedford













Photos taken 2008