Pottawattamie County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Pottawattamie County

Pottawattamie County is named for the Pottawattamie Native American people who resided in the area.


Created:  February 21, 1848

County Seat:

Council   Bluffs  1848 – present


County Courthouse – Council Bluff


Location:  227 South 6th Street / 5th Avenue

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hollis and Miller

Contractor:  A Borchman Sons Company


Description: The building faces east and is a five story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building has a recessed entrance on the east side. Vertical brick dividers ascend to the fifth story which is solid brick. White colored concrete siding is below the brickwork. An east wing of two stories extends eastwards. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1848 and was abandoned for rented premises. The second courthouse was built in 1868 at a cost of $42,000. The third courthouse was designed by Eckel & Mann and constructed by Wickham Brothers in 1885 to 1888 at a cost of $141,800.



N – Harrison County and Shelby County 

E – Cass County

S – Montgomery County and Mills County

W – Sarpy County, Nebraska,  Douglas County, Nebraska and Washington County, Nebraska











Photos taken 2008