Pocahontas County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Pocahontas County

Pocahontas County is named for Pocahontas, who was a famous Native American who played a leading role in the history of the first permanent English settlements in North America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Palo Alto County

E – Humboldt County and Webster County

S – Calhoun County

W – Buena Vista County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Pocahontas County

County Seat:

Old Rolfe      1851 – 1875

Pocahontas  1875 – present


County Courthouse – Pocahontas


Location:  99 Courthouse Square / North Main Street

Built:  1921 – 1923

Style:  Classical Greco-Roman

Architect:  Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson

Contractor:  Arthur H Neuman & Company


Description: The building faces south and is a three story Bedford limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pocahontas. The central entrance on the first story has three arches. Doric columns rise from the second to third stories along the south side. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 2B Judicial District.


See:  The 2B Judicial District includes Boone County, Calhoun CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHardin County, Humboldt CountyMarshall County, Story County, Webster County and Wright County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Old Rolfe was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built at Old Rolfe in 1851. The county seat was moved to Pocahontas in 1875. The second courthouse was built by J L Gould in 1875 at a cost of $2,600. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1921 to 1923.




County Courthouse – Pocahontas













Photos taken 2008