Plymouth County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Plymouth County

Plymouth County is named for Plymouth, Massachusetts, the first settlement of the Pilgrims in 1620.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sioux County

E – Cherokee County

S – Wodbury County

W – Union County, South Dakota 


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Plymouth County

County Seat:

Melbourne  1851 – 1872

Le Mars      1872 – present


County Courthouse – Le Mars


Location:  215 4th Avenue SE / 2nd Street SE

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Kinney & Detweiler of Austin, Minnesota

Contractor:   Emil Miller of Le Mars


Description: The building faces north and is a three story reddish colored sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Le Mars. The north front has a large Greek style portico with four large sandstone columns rising to a pediment at the roof line and wide sandstone steps. The original dome was removed in 1932. The building houses the County District Court of the 3B Judicial District.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Plymouth County Courthouse


See:  The 3B Judicial District includes Crawford County, Ida CountyMonona County, Sioux County and Wodbury County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Melbourne was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in Melbourne in the 1860’s and a portion of the building was used by Henry Morf as a grocery store. The county seat was moved to Le Mars in 1872. The second courthouse was erected in 1873. The third court was a larger structure built in 1874 at a cost of $3,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1901 to 1902 at a cost of $70,000




County Courthouse – Le Mars







Photos taken 2007