Page County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Page County

Page County is named for John Page, who was a captain in the Mexican-American War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montgomery County

E – Taylor County

S – Nodaway County, Missouri and Atchison County, Missouri 

W – Fremont County


Created:  February 24, 1847                  Map of Iowa highlighting Page County

County Seat:

Clarinda  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Clarinda


Location:  112 East Main Street / North 16th Street

Built:  1885 – 1887

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Foster and Leibbe

Contractor:  William Butler


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. There is a one story stone portico on the first story. The west central section projects from the main building. A wide white colored cornice runs below the projecting eave. The windows on the second story are arched. In the center of the building is a high square white cupola with clock and steep roof having a fenced platform at the top. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County District Court of the 4 Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1991.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Audubon County, Cass CountyFremont CountyHarrison County, Mills CountyMontgomery CountyPottawattamie County and Shelby County


History:  The county was created in 1847 and The Clarinda was selected as the county seat in 1853. first courthouse was built in 1853 and was destroyed by fire in 1858. The second courthouse was built in 1856 and the third courthouse was built in 1873 at a cost of $7,456. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $71,000 and was remodeled after a fire in 1991.




County Courthouse - Clarinda 










Photos taken 2008