Osceola County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Osceola County

Osceola County is named for the Osceola, who was the Native America leader in the Second Seminole War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Nobles County, Minnesota and Jackson County, Minnesota

E – Dickinson County

S – O’Brien County

W – Lyon County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Osceola County

County Seat:

Sibley  1851 – present


County Courthouse – Sibley


Location:  300 7th Street / 3rd Avenue

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  F W Kinney

Contractor:  C E Atkinson.


Description: The building faces south and is a three story brownish stone structure. The south front has a projecting one story center section with two columns and a recessed entrance. Above the second story windows are three circular windows. The east and west corners also project from the main building and have arched windows on the second story. The base of the building is course stone. The building houses the County District Court of the 3A Judicial District. In 1925, the dome was removed. The roof line is flat. The building was remodeled in 1961.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Osceola County Courthouse


See:  The 3A Judicial District includes Buena Vista CountyCherokee CountyClay CountyDickinson County, Emmet CountyKossuth County, Lyon CountyO’Brien County and Palo Alto County.


History: The county was created in 1851 and not organized until 1872 when Sibley was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by Henry Pfingsten in 1872 at a cost of $5,000. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1901 to 1902 at a cost of $50,000.


Note:  The highest point in Iowa is Hawkeye Point at 1,670 feet ( 510 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse – Sibley













Photos taken 2007