Montgomery County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for Richard Montgomery, who was a United States general killed in the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  January 15, 1851

County Seat:

Frankfort     1853 – 1865

Red Oak     1865 – present


County Courthouse – Red Oak


Location:  105 East Coolbaugh Street / North 1st Street

Built:  1890 – 1891

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  H C Koch and Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Contractor:  Richard & Company


Description: The building faces south and is a four story red colored Missouri limestone and red colored brick structure. The building has high square clock tower with steep peaked roof on the southeast corner. The first story is course white colored limestone. The southwest corner has round tower with red colored dome. On the west side is larger three sided towers.


See: The architect, H C Koch and Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, designed courthouses in Jefferson County, Mahaska County and Webster County and in Kansas in Marshall County.

 Note:  The first and second courthouses were built in Frankfort and the second courthouse was moved to Red Oak in 1865. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $100,000.



N – Pottawattamie County and Cass County

E – Adams County

S – Page County

W – Mills County























Photos taken 2008