Monroe County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Monroe County

Monroe County is named for James Monroe, who was the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825.


Created:  February 17, 1843

County Seat:

Albia  1843 – present


County Courthouse – Albia


Location:  10 Benton Avenue East / Main Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  O O Smith

Contractor:  James Rowan and Son


Description: The building faces south and is a three story buff colored sandstone structure. The south front and the other three sides have a slightly projecting center section which rises to a pediment above the roof line. On the east and west sides are square towers rising to a small white dome. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line. On the center of the roof is high square stone tower with clock and four small parapets.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1846. The second courthouse was built in 1860.  The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $100,000.



N – Marion County and Mahaska County 

E – Wapello County

S – Appanoose County

W – Lucas County























Photos taken 2008