Monona County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Monona County

Monona County is named for the Native American word meaning “beautiful valley”.


Created:  January 15, 1851

County Seat:

Ashton  1851 – 1858

Onawa   1858 – present


County Courthouse – Onawa


Location:  610 Iowa Avenue / 7th Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque Revival and Victoriann

Architect:  S E Maxon

Contractor:  P H Wind


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The building has a square brick tower extending from the building at the south entrance. The entrance is a wide arch with stone trim. Above the entrance is a large arched window with three windows on the third story. In the center of the building rises a high square brick tower with peaked roof.


Note:  The first courthouse was housed in Mechanics’ Hall in Ashton. The second courthouse was built in 1858 in Onawa at a cost of $7,000.



N – Woodbury County

E – Crawford County

S – Harrison County

W – Burt County, Nebraska and Thurston County, Nebraska





County Courthouse







Photos taken 2008