Mills County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Mills County

Mills County is named for Frederick Mills, who was a lawyer and an officer in the Mexican War, and who was killed at the Battle of Cherubusco in 1847.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pottawattamie County 

E – Montgomery County

S – Fremont County

W – Cass County, Nebraska and Sarpy County, Nebraska


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Mills County

County Seat:

Glenwood  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Glenwood


Location:  418 Sharp Street / Vine Street

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  B H Backlund and Associates

Contractor:  Eldon Butler


Description: The building faces south and is a two story square concrete and glass structure. The building is located on spacious grounds. The south front has a small glass enclosed portico. The building has a Spanish style red colored tile roof. Colored panels are placed between the windows. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County District Court of the 4 Judicial District.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Audubon County, Cass CountyFremont CountyHarrison County, Montgomery CountyPage County, Pottawattamie County and Shelby County


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Glenwood was selected as the county seat in 1857. The first courthouse was built in 1857 at a cost of $40,000. An addition was constructed by W S Doan in 1910. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1958 to 1959 at a cost of $319,038.





County Courthouse - Glenwood 







Photos taken 2008