Marion County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Marion County

Marion County is named for Francis Marion, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1732 to 1795.


Surrounding County Courthouses:

N – Jasper County

E – Mahaska County

S – Monroe County and Lucas County 

W – Warren County


Created:  June 10, 1845                         Map of Iowa highlighting Marion County

County Seat:

Knoxville  1846 – present


County Courthouse – Knoxville


Location:  214 East Main Street / South 3rd Street

Built:  1896

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Mifflin Emien Bell

Contractor:  Charles A Moses


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Knoxville. The center section projects from the main building with entrance having three arches on the first story. Above is a large arched window on the second story rising to an arched window at the fourth story dormer. There are small dormers along the roof. In the center of the building is a high square stone clock tower with open arch, clock above and steep peaked roof. The building houses the County District Court of the 5A Judicial District.


See:  The architect, Mifflin Emien Bell also designed the courthouses in Illinois in DuPage County and  Mercer County and in Wisconsin in Monroe County. 


See:  The 5A Judicial District includes Dallas County, Guthrie County, Jasper County, Madison County and Warren County.


History:  The county was created in 1845 and Knoxville was selected as the county seat in 1846. The first courthouse was built in 1846 at a cost of $700. The second courthouse was built in 1856 at a cost of $20,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1896 at a cost of $80,000.




County Courthouse - Knoxville 






















Photos taken 2008