Mahaska County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Mahaska County

Mahaska County is named for Chief Mahaska, who was a chief of the Ioway Native American tribe.


Created:  February 17, 1843

County Seat:

Oskaloosa  1844 – present


County Courthouse – Oskaloosa


Location:  106 South 1st Street / High Avenue East

Built:  1882 – 1886

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:   H C Koch and Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Contractor:  O J King & Company


Description: The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building has a stone foundation. The west front has a large stone arch around the first story entrance. Above rises a square brick tower which is tired having a square clock tower with spires at the top. The roof line has peaked dormers with arched windows. Stone trim horizontal bands run along the building.


Note: The architect, H C Koch and Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, designed courthouses in Jefferson County, Montgomery County and Webster County and in Marshall County, Kansas


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1844 to 1845. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $132,500.



N – Jasper County and Poweshiek County

E – Keokuk County 

S – Wapello County and Monroe County

W – Marion County   








Photos taken 2008