Madison County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Created:  January 13, 1846

County Seat:

Winterset  1849 – present


County Courthouse – Winterset


Location:  112 North John Wayne Avenue / Jefferson Street

Built:  1876 – 1878

Style:  Italianate-Revival-Classical

Architect:  Andrew H Piquenard

Contractor:  Jacob Reichard


Description: The building faces north and is a two story native limestone structure. The building has four wings which join to form a Greek cross. The north front has a one story portico supported by eight thin columns with three arched windows on the second story. There is a portico on each wing. On the center of the roof is a silver colored dome with bell, clock and small cupola at the top. The interior has solid walnut woodwork.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1849. The second courthouse was built in 1875 and a fire destroyed the building.  The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $120,000.



N – Dallas County

E – Warren County

S – Clarke County and Union County

W – Adair County























Photos taken 2008