Keokuk County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Keokuk County

Keokuk County is named for Chief Keokuk, who was the chief of the Sac Native Americans who advocated peace with the white settlers.


Created:  December 21, 1837

County Seat:

Sigourney  1844 – 1848

Lancaster  1848 – 1858

Sigourney  1858 – present


County Courthouse – Sigourney


Location:  101 South Main Street / East Washington Street

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Classical  Revival

Architect:  Wetherell & Gage

Contractor:  J L Simmons


Description: The building faces north and is a three story light colored stone structure. The first story has horizontal stonework with a central entrance with curved pediment above. Two large columns rise to the top of the third story with a large dormer with arched window at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a square stone clock tower with gold dome.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1845 at Sigourney at a cost of $218. In 1848, the second courthouse was built at Lancaster. In 1858, the third courthouse was built by Coleman & Lehman at Sigourney at a cost of $17,200. The building was enlarged in 1892. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $150,000.



N – Poweshiek County and Iowa County

E – Washington County 

S – Jefferson County and Wapello County

W – Mahaska County


















Photos taken 2008