Ida County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Ida County

Ida County is named for Ida Smith, who was the first European-American born in the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cherokee County

E – Sac County

S – Crawford County

W – Woodbury County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Ida County

County Seat:

Ida Grove  1851 – present


County Courthouse – Ida Grove


Location:  401 Moorehead Street / 4th Street

Built:  1880 – 1883

Style:  Victorian

Architect:  J P Bryant

Contractor:  W Townsend and J M Starbuck


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Ida Grove. The west front has a 110 foot square brick tower with steep peaked silver colored roof. The north and south sides project in tiers with a peaked roof at the top of the center section. The roof is hipped. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 3B Judicial District. The building was remodeled in 1930 and 1936. In 1982, an addition was added on the south side which is the Courthouse Annex.


See:  National Register of Historic Places


See:  The 3B Judicial District includes Crawford County, Monona County, Plymouth CountySioux County and Wodbury County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Ida Grove was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1872 and a fire destroyed the building in 1877. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1880 to 1883.

Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1872 and a fire destroyed the building in 1877.




County Courthouse – Ida Grove













Photos taken 2008