Hancock County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Hancock County

Hancock County is named for John Hancock, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1737 to 1793.


Created:  January 15, 1851

County Seat:

Concord  1856 – 1890

Garner    1890 – present


County Courthouse – Garner


Location:  855 State Street / 8th Street

Built:  1898 – 1899

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  F W Kinney

Contractor:  Gross Construction


Description: The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick structure. On the northwest corner is a three story square brick tower. The south west corner has a lower square brick tower. The front has three arches with a recessed porch at the entrance on the first story. Above the entrance are here windows and a dormer on the third story above the roof line. The base of the building is course white colored stone. The building was renovated from 1999 to 2000.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1865 at a cost of $2,000. The second courthouse was built in 1867 at a cost of $10,000.



N – Winnebago County

E – Cerro Gordo County

S – Wright County

W – Kossuth County 














Photos taken 2008