Franklin County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cerro Gordo County

E – Butler County

S – Hardin County

W – Wright County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Franklin County

County Seat:

Hampton  1854 – present


County Courthouse – Hampton


Location:  12 1st Avenue NW / Federal Street North

Built:  1890 – 1891

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:   Truman Dudley Allen of Minneapolis, Minnesota

Contractor:  G H King


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hampton. A  stone portico extends from the building with a large arched entrance. The base of the building is white colored course stone. White colored stone trim is along the windows. The notable brick features include the machicolated cornice, the circular corner features of the four central pavilions and the clusters of circular chimneys. On the center of the roof is a high square clock tower with statue of Justice at the top. The roof is hipped. The interior is richly endowed with woodwork in the Romanesque Revival style surrounding the doors and windows and supporting arched ceilings. The county offices on the first story all open onto a central rotunda with an elegant marble floor. The courtroom occupies the central portion of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 2A Judicial District. 


See:  The architect Truman Dudley Allen of Minneapolis, Minnesota also designed courthouses in Hardin CountyIowa. Blue Earth CountyRock County and Steele CountyMinnesota, Medina County, Ohio and Richland CountyWisconsin.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Franklin County Courthouse


See:  The 2A Judicial District includes Bremer County, Butler County, Cerro Gordo County, Floyd CountyHancock CountyMitchell CountyWinnebego County and Worth County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Hampton was selected as the county seat in 1854. The first court met at the home of Judge James B Reeve. The first courthouse was a wood structure built in 1857. The court moved to a schoolhouse and the second courthouse was built by U Weeks in 1866 at a cost of $12,500. The third courthouse was constructed in 1890 to 1891 at a cost of $60,000.




County Courthouse – Hampton




























Photos taken 2008