Clayton County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Clayton County

Clayton County is named for John M. Clayton, who was a United States Senator from Delaware and later Secretary of State under President Zachray Taylor.


Created:  December 21, 1837

County Seat:

Prairie Le Port ( Guttenberg )  1840 – 1843

Jacksonville ( Garnavillo )        1843 – 1867

Elkader                                     1876 – present


County Courthouse – Elkader


Location:  111 High Street NE / Bridge Street

Built:  1877 – 1878

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  O F Davis

Contractor:  Louis Ruther, R E Price, F D Bayless, H C Grotewohl, F H Carter, D R Mills, Samuel Murdock, S T Woodward, R Richardson, Oliver Wade, Isaac Haves, Charles Schoch, Anton Kramer, R L Freeman, P C Young, Wolfgang Schmidt, August Borman, P H Mullen, C F Sterns, James Partch, George Meyer, Jacob Stemmer, John Becker, O F Davis, A B Moreland, E W Stewart, John Partch, Adolph Papin, F Wheeland, Thomas Commungs, W A Preston, J M Snedigar and B S Whitney.


Description: The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick, wood and limestone structure. The building has a square white wood clock tower on the center of the roof. The main entrance is on the east side. The eaves of the building extend outwards. In 1867 a red colored brick building was constructed for the clerk and treasure, and the current courthouse was added onto that existing structure. The clock tower was added in 1896. The contractor was William F Fuelling of Farmersberg.


Old County Courthouse – Guttenberg


Location:  510 North 1 st Street / Mozart Street

Built:  1840

Style:  Classical

Architect:  David Hastings

Contractor:  David Hastings


Description: The building faces east and is a two story white colored siding, wood and stone structure. The original building was stone. An enclosed porch is on the east side. The roof is hipped. The building was originally located on the Public Square at Main Street and 1st Street and served as courthouse until 1843.



N – Allamakee County

E – Crawford County, Wisconsin and Grant County, Wisconsin

S – Dubuque County and Delaware County

W – Fayette County



















Photos taken 2008