Chickasaw County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Chickasaw County

Chickasaw County is named for the Chickasaw Native American tribe whose Chief was Bradford.


Created:  January 15, 1851

County Seat:

Bradford     1854 – 1857

New Hampton  1857 – present


County Courthouse – New Hampton


Location:  8 East Prospect Street / North Chestnut Avenue

Built:  1929 – 1930

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Ralston & Ralston of Waterloo

Contractor:  Tapager Construction Company of Albert Lea, Minnesota


Description: The building faces south and  is a three story gray Bedford limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city.The central entrance has a projecting overhang. The first story has horizontal stonework with a projecting ridge above. The roof line has a wide band of limestone. During construction, the superintendent was George Metcalf.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Bradford in 1854. The second courthouse was built in New Hampton in 1865. The building was destroyed by fire in 1880. The third courthouse was designed and built by Louis Brown in 1881 at a cost of $10,500. Additions were added in 1905 and 1906 designed by Harry E Netcott. The building burned in 1928. The present courthouse at a cost of $134,000.



N – Howard County

E – Winneshiek County and Fayette County

S – Bremer County

W – Floyd County





County Courthouse

















Photos taken 2008