Carroll County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Carroll County

Carroll County is named for Charles Carroll, who was a signer of the United States Declaration of Independence.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sac County and Calhoun County

E – Greene County

S – Guthrie County and Audubon County

W – Crawford County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Carroll County

County Seat:

Carrolton  1855 – 1869

Carroll      1869 – present


County Courthouse – Carroll


Location:  114 East 6th Street / North Main Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  John Latenser & Son Company

Contractor:  Sioux Construction


Description: The building faces north and is a three story buff colored limestone, red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds atop a rise in the center of Carroll. The north front extends from the main building and has an overhang at the central entrance. Vertical dividers separate the windows. Vertical dividers are along the east and west sides. The building houses the District Court of the 2B Judicial District. 


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Carrolton was selected as the county seat in 1855. The first courthouse was started in 1858 and the contractor died. In 1865 a second story was built at a cost of #3,000. In 1868 the county seat was moved to Carroll and the court occupied the railroad depot. The second courthouse was built in 1869 at a cost of $4,000. The courthouse burned in 1886 and the county offices were moved to the Joyce Lumber Company building and court was held in the music hall. In 1887, the third courthouse was a Victorian limestone structure designed by J C Cochrane and constructed by R S Finkbine. The courthouse was torn down when the fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965 at a cost of $750,000.





County Courthouse – Carroll




Bell 1887 County Courthouse




Photos taken 2008