Boone County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Boone County

Boone County is named for Nathan Boone, who was the son of Daniel Boone an American pioneer who has founded Boonesborough in Kentucky.


Created:  January 13, 1846

County Seat:

Boonesboro  1846 – 1891

Boone           1892 – present


County Courthouse – Boone


Location:  201 South State Street / West 2nd Street

Built:  1916 – 1917

Style:  Second Renaissance

Architect:  Norman T Vorse of Des Moines

Contractor:  L H Boyd of Boyd Construction Company of Saint Paul, Minnesota


Description: The building faces east and is a four story stone structure. The east front has eight tall columns rising from the second story to the fourth story with recessed windows in between. The first story has stone blocks with recessed windows. In the interior of the building are marble walls with terrazzo floors.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Boonesboro in 1856 at a cost of $2100. The previous courthouse was constructed by Delos Arnold in 1868 at a cost of $38,000. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $250,000.



N – Webster County and Hamilton

E – Story County

S – Polk County and Dallas County

W – Greene County











Photos taken 2008