Black Hawk County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Black Hawk County
Black Hawk

Black Hawk County is named for Black Hawk, who was chief of the Fox and Sac Native American tribes and who was a leader in the Black Hawk War.


Created:  February 17, 1843

County Seat:

Cedar Falls  1844 – 1855

Waterloo      1855 – present


County Courthouse – Waterloo


Location:  316 East 5th Street / Mulberry Street

Built:  1962 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Toenjes-Stenson and Warm

Contractor:  John G Miller Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a four story glass, steel, polished stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Waterloo. The west entrance has a brown colored polished stone section rising above the roof line. There are vertical brown colored polished stone sections around the building. The windows are horizontal with polished stone between the floors.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1855 at a cost of $27,000. The building was razed in 1907. The second courthouse was designed by Fremont D Orff and built by C E Atkinson in 1902.



N – Bremer County

E – Buchanan County

S – Benton County and Tama County

W – Grundy County and Butler County





County Courthouse – Waterloo













Photos taken 2008