Adams County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Adams County

Adams County is named for John Adams, who was the second President of the United States of America, or for John Quincy Adams, who was the sixth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cass County and Adair County

E – Union County

S – Taylor County

W – Montgomery County

Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Adams County

County Seat:

Quincy   1853 – 1872

Corning  1872 – present


County Courthouse – Corning


Location:  901 Davis Avenue / 9th Street

Built:  1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Thomas W Williamson and Victor Loebsack and Associates

Contractor:  M W Watson


Description: The building faces south and is a three story concrete and glass structure.  The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Corning. There is a small portico at the south entrance with a large window above. Vertical concrete dividers separate the windows. The courtroom is located on the north side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 5B Judicial District. On the north side is the old two story County Jail built in 1877.



History:  The county was created in 1851 and Quincy was selected as the county seat in 1853. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure  built in 1854. The county seat was moved to Corning in 1872 and the second courthouse was a two story structure built in 1873. The courthouse burned on February 1, 1888. The third courthouse was designed by S E Maxon and constructed by A H Chaffee at a cost of $28,183 in 1888 to 1890. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1955 at a cost of $218,635.




County Courthouse – Corning













Photos taken 2008