Sullivan County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Sullivan County

Sullivan County is named for Daniel Sullivan, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who was killed while carrying a dispatch between Fort Vincennes and Louisville, Kentucky.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Vigo County

E – Clay County and Greene County

S – Knox County

W – Crawford County, Illinois and Clark County, Illinois


Created:  December 30, 1816                                                    Map of Indiana highlighting Sullivan County

County Seat: 

Carlisle   1817 – 1819

Merom    1919 – 1942

Sullivan   1842 – present


County Courthouse – Sullivan


Location:  100 Courthouse Square / South Court Street

Built:  1926

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  John B Bayard of Vincennes

Contractor:  Walter R Heath of Greencastle


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story rectangular buff colored limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Sullivan. The south front has horizontal buff colored stone work on the first story with a small overhang at the entrance. Six large columns rise from the second to third stories diving recessed windows. A wide cornice runs below the roof line and a clock rises above the roof line. The courtroom is located on the second story and the interior decorations include a massive oak backdrop to the judge’s bench. This feature includes raised carved floral detailing in the central panel and a pediment above, which encloses a carved eagle with its wings unfurled. The doors and window surrounds are of the same oak and have projecting cornices. Carved floral capitals, matching those in the backdrop are also present on the rails around the jury box and on other furnishings. The walls of the courtroom are punctuated by fluted Composite pilasters resting on oak wainscoting. The coffered ceiling is outlined with combination dentil moldings and decorative plaster medallions containing the dropped light fixtures.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sullivan County Courthouse


History:  The first county sea was Carlisle in 1817 and the first court met at the home of James Sproule. The county seat was moved to Merom in 1919. The first courthouse was a log structure erected in 1819. The county seat was moved to Sullivan in 1843. The second courthouse was a log structure erected in 1843 and was destroyed by fire in 1850. The third courthouse was designed by Edwin May and constructed by James Pound and William Reed in 1852 at a cost of $7,853. In 1872, an addition was constructed by William Greenlee at a cost of $60,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1926 at a cost of $500,000.




County Courthouse – Sullivan






















Photos taken 2008