Shelby County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Shelby County

Shelby County is named for Isaac Shelby, who was the first Governor of Kentucky and who defeated the British at the Battle of Kings Mountain during the Revolutionary War.


Created:  December 31, 1821

County Seat: 

Shelbyville  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Shelbyville  


Location:  407 South Harrison Street / Polk Street

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  D A Bohlen and Son

Contractor:  Service Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story grey colored limestone structure. The north and south sections project slightly from the main building. The east front has long vertical windows. The center section has wide vertical dividers with three entrance doorways on the first story. The building was renovated in 2002. The architect was The Oldle McGuire & Shook Corporation and the contractor was the Summit Construction Company Inc.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Edwin May in 1852. The building was remodeled in 1878. The architect was R P Draggett and the contractor was Osborne, Carlisle & Jones.


County Criminal Justice Center – Shelbyville  




Location:  105 West Taylor Street / Elm Street

Built:  1993 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Woolpert Consultants and The Voinovich Group

Contractor:  Dunlap and Company Inc. and Vincent B Greiner Inc.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The northeast corner has an entrance on the first story with large canopy supported by thin columns. The square windows are small. A white colored band runs below the flat roof line.



N – Hancock County

E – Rush County and Decatur County

S – Decatur County and Bartholomew County

W – Johnson County and Marion County





























Photos taken 2008