Newton County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Newton County

Newton County is named for John Newton, who was a sergeant who served under General Francis Marion in the Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lake County

E – Jasper County

S – Benton County

W – Iroquois County, Illinois and Kankakee County, Illinois


Created:  February 7, 1835                                                             Location in the state of Indiana

County Seat: 

Kentland  1859 – present


County Courthouse – Kentland  


Location:  210 North 3rd Street / East Graham Street

Built:  1905 – 1906

Style:  ItalItalian Renaissance

Architect:  Joseph T Hutton of Hammond

Contractor:  Eric Lund of Hammond


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete rectangular structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Kentland. White colored stone headers are above each window. There is a red colored title roof which slopes to each corner. The west front entrance has a small pediment over the entrance on the first story. The third story contains twin sets of court rooms. The building was remodeled in 1989 and the west front was added.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Newton County Courthouse


History:  Kentland became the county seat in 1859 after the county was re-organized. The first courthouse was a two story structure built by John B Chesebrough at a cost of $974 in 1861. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1905 to 1906 at a cost of $34,855.




County Courthouse – Kentland



















Photos taken 2008 and 2011