Marion County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Marion County

Marion County is named for Francis Marion, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1732 to 1795.


Created:   December 31, 1821

County Seat: 

Indianapolis  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Indianapolis 


Location:  200 East Washington Street / North Delaware Street

Built:  1960 – 1962

Style:  Modern Skyscrapper

Architect:  Allied Architects & Engineers of Indianapolis

Contractor:  Huber, Hunt & Nichols, Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a twenty-eightstory concrete, steel and glass rectangular structure. The north entrance has a large over hang. The windows are horizontal bands at each story. On the west side is a six story building with vertical dividers between the windows. The building houses the offices of the City of Indianapolis.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed and built by John E Baker and James Paxton. The previous courthouse was designed by Issac M Hodgson and constructed in 1877.


See:  The Indiana Supreme Court is located in Indianapolis.



N – Boone County and Hamilton County

E – Hancock County and Shelby County

S – Johnson County and Morgan County

W – Hendricks County











Photos taken 2008