Madison County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Created:  January 4, 1823

County Seat: 

Pendleton  1823 – 1827

Anderson   1827 – present


County Courthouse – Anderson


Location:  16 East 9th Street / Meridian Street

Built:  1972 – 1973

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Johnson, Richhart Associates

Contractor:  Solitt Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story glass, concrete and red colored brick structure. The first and second stories are recessed on the south side with brick pillars supporting the projecting upper stories. Glass walls cover the third and fourth stories. Square red colored brick towers rise at the center of each side. The building is named as the Madison County Government Center. The building was remodeled in 1983.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by George Bunting and constructed by McCormack & Sweeney in 1882.



N – Grant County

E – Delaware County and Henry County

S – Hancock County

W – Hamilton County and Tipton County

















Photos taken 2008