Jefferson County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Created:  November 23, 1810

County Seat: 

Madison  1811 – present


County Courthouse – Madison  


Location:  300 East Main Street / Jefferson Street

Built:  1854 – 1855

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  David Dubach

Contractor:  David Dubach, Henry C Kyle and J W Hinds.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. On the west side is a portico with arches on the first story and supported by four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The base of the building is white colored stone. There is a peaked roof on the south and north sides at the center. On the center of the roof is a round dome with clock and small cupola at the top. The building was renovated in 1960. The architect was Sieco, Inc. of Columbus and the contractor was Wespiser Construction Company of Statesville.



N – Jennings County and Ripley County

E – Switzerland County

S – Carroll County, Kentucky, Trimble County, Kentucky and Clark County

W – Scott County























Photos taken 2008