Jasper County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Jasper County

Jasper County is named for William Jasper, who was a famous scout for the Continentals during the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  February 7, 1835

County Seat: 

Parish Grove      1839

Spiller’s Cabin    1839

Rensselaer         1839 – present


County Courthouse – Rensselaer


Location:  115 West Washington Street / South Van Rensselaer Street

Built:  1896 – 1898

Style:  Gothic Revival

Architect:  Alfred Grindle and Charles Weatherhogg of Fort Wayne

Contractor:  G W Heinzmann & J F Heinzmann of Noblesville.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The north front has two high stone pillars with three peaked dormers along the roof line. On each corner of the building is a small octagonal tower. In the building center rises a large square stone tower with a clock on each side and a four peaked roof at the top.



N – Lake County and Porter County

E – Starke County, Pulaski County and White County

S – White County and Benton County

W – Newton County








Photos taken 2006 and 2008