Grant County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Grant County

Grant County is named for Samuel Grant and Moses Grant, who were both Captains from Kentucky.


Created:  February 10, 1831

County Seat: 

Marion  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Marion  


Location:  101 East 4th Street / South Adams Street

Built:  1880

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Elijah E Myers of Philadelphia

Contractor:  Hinsdale-Dovie Granite Company and W D Richardson


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The north and south porticos have three arches on the first story and four columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. Above are pediments. The east and west center sections project from the main building. The dome was removed in 1943.


See:  The architect, Elijah E Myers of Philadelphia, also designed the now demolished courthouse in Seneca County, Ohio and in Illinois in Knox County and McDonough County and in Ohio in Lorain County.



N – Wabash County and Huntington County

E – Wells County and Blackford County

S – Delaware County and Madison County

W – Howard County and Miami County




















Photos taken 2008