Dearborn County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Dearborn County

Dearborn County is named for Henry Dearborn, who was a United States Secretary of War.

Created:  March 7, 1803

County Seat: 

Lawrenceburg   1803 – 1836

Wilmington        1836 – 1844

Lawrenceburg   1844 – present


County Courthouse – Lawrenceburg


Location:  215 West High Street / Mary Street

Built:  1870 – 1873

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  George Kyle of Vevay

Contractor:  Thomas J Shannon of Lawrenceburg


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story gray limestone structure. The east front has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to the pediment at the roof line, Small peaked roofs are on the south, west and north sides.


County Administration – Lawrenceburg




Location: 215 B West High Street / Mary Street

Built:  1983 – 1984

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Savage Walker Schulte Associates Inc. and John P Grier

Contractor:  Stephen Gross & Sons Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story concrete and glass style structure. The roof line is flat.



N – Franklin County

E – Butler County, Ohio, Hamilton County, Ohio and Boone County, Kentucky

S – Ohio County

W – Ripley County 

















Photos taken 2008