Clinton County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Clinton County

Clinton County is named for DeWitt Clinton, who was the Governor of New York from 1817 to 1823.


Created:  January 19, 1830

County Seat: 

Frankfort  1830 – present


County Courthouse – Frankfort  


Location:  Courthouse Square / East Clinton Street

Built:  1882 – 1884

Style:  Victorial Eclectic

Architect:  George W Bunting of Indianapolis

Contractor:  Charles Pearce of Indianapolis


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story gray colored stone structure. On each side of the building are stone porticos rising to a pediment at the roof line. At each corner is a square stone tower with small square above the roof line. A wide cornice runs along the roof line. On the centre of the roof is a square dome with clock and domed green colored roof. White statues adorn the top of the building.


See:  The architect, George W Bunting of Indianapolis, also designed courthouses in Greene CountyJohnson CountyMontgomery CountyUnion County and Wells County.



N – Carroll County and Howard County

E – Howard County and Tipton County

S – Boone County

W – Montgomery County and Tippecanoe County 




















Photos taken 2008