Saint Clair County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Saint Clair County
St. Clair

Saint Clair County is named for Arthur Saint Clair, who was a general and Commander in Chief of the United States Army after the American Revolution, and was Governor of the territory northwest of Ohio.


Created:  April 27, 1790

County Seat:

Cahokia                1790 – 1814

Belleville               1814 – present


County Courthouse – Belleville


Location: 10 Public Square / South Illinois Street

Built:  1969 – 1875

Style: Modern

Architect:  Hellmuth, Obata & Kasabaum and Weisentstein, Hausmann, Ganschinietz and Klingel, Inc.

Contractor:  Bauer Brothers Construction Company


Description: The building faces north and is a six story gray concrete structure. The complex has a south building and a west building connected by a glass centre section in the southwest area. The windows of each building are horizontal on each story. In the northeast area, there is a square with two reflecting ponds with fountains.



N – Madison County

E – Clinton County and Washington County

S – Randolph County and Monroe County

W – Monroe County, St. Louis County, Missouri and St. Louis City, Missouri

















Photos taken 2012