Madison County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the President of the United states from 1809 to 1817.


Created:  September 14, 1812

County Seat:

Edwardsville  1812 – present


County Courthouse – Edwardsville


Location:  155 North Main Street / St. Louis Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Robert G Kirsch of Saint Louis, Missouri

Contractor:  English Brothers of Champaign


Description: The building faces east and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The east front has a projecting center section with the entrance on the first story and two high columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. Between the columns is a high recessed window. On either side of the center section are similar two column segments with windows between. The roof line has a solid stone balustrade.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed and built by Charles H Pond in 1857.


County Administration – Edwardsville




Location:  157 North Main Street / West College Street

Built:  1990 – 1992

Style:  Modern Neo-Classical

Architect:  Leo A Dals

Contractor:  Kotte-Plocher Construction Company, Inc.


Description: The building faces east and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The building is on the north side of the courthouse.



N – Jersey County, Macoupin County and Montgomery County

E – Bond County and Clinton County

S – Clinton County and Saint Clair County

W – St. Louis City, Missouri, St. Louis County, Missouri and St. Charles County, Missouri













Photos taken 2007 and 2012