Iroquois County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Iroquois County

Iroquois County is named for the Iroquois, which applied to a former confederacy of six Native American peoples, the Mohawk, Onedida, Seneca, Onodaga, Cayuga and Tuscarora who settled along the Hudson River Valley in New York.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kankakee County

E – Newton County, Indiana and Benton County, Indiana

S – Vermilion County and Ford County

W – Ford County


Created:  February 26, 1833                                                      Map of Illinois highlighting Iroquois County

County Seat:

Montgomery  1837 – 1839

Middleport     1839 – 1865

Watseka        1865 – present


County Courthouse – Watseka


Location:  550 South 10th Street / East Grant Street

Built:  1965 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Graham Anderson Probst & White of Chicago

Contractor:  R T Milord Company


Description: The building faces west and is a two story rectangular concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds. The west front has a large dark glass front at the entrance. There are few windows in the building and the rest is sold concrete walls. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 21st Judicial Circuit. To the east is the County Administration Building.


Old County Courthouse – Watseka




Location:  103 West Cherry Street / South 2nd Street

Built:  1866

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  C B Leach

Contractor:  A C Montor


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Watseka to the west of the courthouse. The rectangular shaped building has a one story white colored porch at the entrance on the first story. Above is an arch window on the second story and rising above the roof id a square red colored brick tower with mansard roof. The former courtroom was located on the second story. Additions were built on the sides in 1881 on the south side and 1927. The building is now the Iroquois County Museum.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Iroquois County Courthouse


See:  The 21st Judicial District includes Kankakee County.


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Montgomery was selected as the county seat in 1837. In 1839, the county seat was moved to Middleport. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1845. In 1865. The county seat was moved to Watseka. The second courthouse was constructed in 1866 and is still standing. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1965 to 1966.




County Courthouse – Watseka










County Administration Building – Watseka




Old County Courthouse – Watseka
















Photos taken 2008