Henderson County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Henderson County

Henderson County is named for the Henderson River which flows through the county and which was named after Henderson County in Kentucky.


Created:  January 20, 1841

County Seat:

Oquawka  1841 – present


County Courthouse – Oquawka


Location:  307 Warren Street / 4th  Street

Built:  1843 – 1844

Style:  Colonial and Greek Revival

Architect:  Alexis Phelps

Contractor:  Jason Ryason and Woodworth and Merrill


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. On the south front is a large portico supported by four large white columns. Above the pediment is a large white square tower with an octagonal white wood cupola with windows. New additions have been added on the north side. The building is the second oldest courthouse in Illinois still in use after the Putnam County Courthouse.



N – Mercer County

E – Warren County

S – McDonough County and Hancock County

W – Lee County, Iowa and Des Moines County, Iowa











Photos taken 2007