Greene County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Greene County

Greene County is named for Nathaniel Greene, who was a general and the commander in the southern colonies during the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  January 20, 1821

County Seat:

Carrollton  1821 – present


County Courthouse – Carrollton


Location:  519 North Main Street / South 6th Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:   Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  Henry Elliott of Chicago

Contractor:  Frederick W Menke of Quincy


Description: The building faces North and is a two story rough buff colored stone structure. The north front has a one story rough stone portico supported by four square pillars. Above the portico is a railed balcony with large arched window flanked on either side by smaller arched windows. The roof line rises with a white statue of a woman. In the building center is a high stone tower with steep roof and clock.



N – Scott County and Morgan County

E – Macoupin County

S – Jersey County

W – Calhoun County and Pike County

















Photos taken 2007 and 2012