Fulton County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Fulton County

Fulton County is named for Robert Fulton, who was the  first successful builder of a steamboat on American waters.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Knox County and Peoria County

E – Peoria CountyTazewell County and Mason County

S – Mason County and Schuyler County

W – Schuyler County, McDonough County and Warren County



Created:  January 28, 1823                                                        Map of Illinois highlighting Fulton County

County Seat:

Lewistown  1823 – present


County Courthouse – Lewiston


Location:  100 Main Street North / Washington Street

Built:  1897 – 1898

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Charles Bell of Bell and Kent from Council Bluffs, Iowa

Contractor:  H V V Clute, R M Hinde and M P Rice


Description: The building faces east and is a two story gray stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lewiston. The east front has a protruding tower with archway on the first story at the entrance. On the second story, is a large arched window. Smaller towers with black colored roofs are at each corner of the building. In the center of the building is a high square dome with clock and silver colored roof at the top. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 9th Judicial Circuit.


See:  The architect,  Charles Bell of Bell and Kent from Council Bluffs, Iowa also designed the courthouse in Woodford County


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Hancock CountyHenderson CountyKnox CountyMcDonough County and Warren County


History:  The county was created in 1823 and Lewiston was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure erected in 1823. The second courthouse was a two story simple frame structure built by John McNeil in 1826 at a cost of $649. The third courthouse was a two story brick and stone structure designed by Major Newton Walker of Lewiston and built in 1837 to 1838 at a cost of $9,000. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on December 14, 1894. The county went without a courthouse for twelve years. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1897 to 1898 at a cost of $100,000.



184i12     189i12

County Courthouse – Lewiston



















Picture First County Courthouse




Photos taken 2012