Edgar County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Edgar County

Edgar County is named for John Edgar, who was a pioneer merchant, politician and a land speculator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Vermilion County

E – Vermillion County, Indiana and Vigo County, Indiana

S – Clark County

W – Coles County and Douglas County


Created:  January 3, 1823                                                          Map of Illinois highlighting Edgar County

County Seat:

Paris  1823 – present


County Courthouse – Paris


Location:  115 West Court Street / North Main Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:   Henry Elliott of Chicago

Contractor:  Hibbert Brothers


Description: The building faces south and is a two story yellow colored rough sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Paris. The building is an octagonal shape. The entrances are at the corners of the building and have one story stone porticos with balcony above. The dormers are medieval in character. On the center of the roof is large square white colored wedding cake style tower rising in tiers to an octagonal cupola with clock, white colored dome and a statue of Justice at the top. The hipped roof is red colored slate. The interior has marble floors. The first story has a courtroom and the second story has a courtroom and four large murals. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit. The architect was Henry Elliott and the contractor was Hibbert Brothers.


See:  The architect Henry Elliott of Chicago also designed courthouses in Greene CountyJersey County and Pike County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Edgar County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Clark CountyColes County, Cumberland County and Vermilion County.


History:  The county was created in 1823 and Paris was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by Ebenezer Center at a cost of $690. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built by Leander Munsell in 1832 at a cost of $4,250. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1891 to 1892 at a cost of $122,890.




County Courthouse – Paris



















Photos taken 2008