DeWitt County

US States / H-L / Illinois / DeWitt County
De Witt

DeWitt County is named for DeWitt Clinton, who was a Governor of New York and who was responsible for the construction of the Erie Canal.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McLean County

E – Piatt County

S – Macon County

W – Logan County


Created:  March 1, 1839

County Seat:

Marion  1839

Clinton  1839 – present


County Courthouse – Clinton


Location:  201 West Washington Street / South Quincy Street

Built:  1984 – 1986

Style:  Modern

Architect:  FGM, Inc. of Belleville

Contractor:  Diversified Buildings, Inc. of Morton


Description: The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The south central entrance projects from the main building and has glass doors. The windows are rectangular and set low. The roof line is flat. The jail is contained in the east section of the building.


History:  The county was created in 1839 and Marion was designated as the temporary county seat. Clinton was selected as the county seat in 1839 anf the first courthouse was built by Henry Dishon in the same year at a cost of $600. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1849. The third courthouse was a three story Gothic Revival stone structure designed by Henry Elliott of Chicago and constructed by C F Schultz & Company in 1899 and resembled the courthouse in Pike County. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1984 to 1986.

Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Henry Elliot and constructed by Dan Tait in 1894.




County Courthouse – Clinton
















County Jail – Clinton










Photos taken 2010